About

Design is increasingly becoming an integral part of business strategy. If companies want to differentiate themselves in the market to win customers who are willing to buy and use their products, everything they do has to be’ designed’ consciously!

The necessary prerequisite for good design is a good organization, one that turns the “business” into an experience that inspires customers. Creating a good organization with clear design guidance is far more important than just to organize good design.

The Design Maturity Score indicates how well an organization establishes design, or not. 15 factors are used to display the maturity of design. This makes it possible to identify strengths and weaknesses, what needs to be developed and what needs to be secured.
The factors were developed from empirical studies and are based on the model of the “Danish Design Ladder”.

Design is employed differently in companies. Some companies focus only on the design of their products and services – they restrict themselves to Design Doing. Others use design more comprehensively, carry out Design Thinking and also design their processes. Last but not least, there are companies in which design is the starting point for all actions, in which every decision and thus also the foundation of meaning originates from a design strategy – they develop a Design Being.

The Design Maturity Score measures the design maturity in companies. The result shows where you and your organization stand, where you have strengths and weaknesses, and what the characteristics of the maturity are. This enables you to determine where you can start to improve design leadership in the company.

Because every design work is only as effective as the underlying organization!

Download a detailed description of the Design Maturity Score here.

About

Das Design wird zusehends zum festen Bestandteil der Geschäftsstrategie. Wenn Unternehmen sich im Markt differenzieren und kauf- sowie nutzungsbereite Kunden gewinnen wollen, muss alles, was sie unternehmen, bewusst ‚gestaltet’ werden!

Die nötige Rahmenbedingung für ein gutes Design ist eine gute Organisation, eine, welche das »Geschäft« zum Erlebnis macht und so Kunden begeistert. Die Gestaltung einer guten Organisation mit einer klaren Designführung ist dabei weit wichtiger, als nur gutes Design zu organisieren.

Der Design Maturity Score zeigt auf, wie gut eine Organisation das Design aufstellt, oder eben nicht. Anhand von 15 Faktoren wird die Maturität des Design angezeigt. Dies ermöglicht, zu erkennen, wo Stärken und Schwächen liegen, was entwickelt und was gesichert werden soll.

Die Faktoren sind aus empirischen Studien entstanden und stützen sich auf das Modell der „Dänischen Design Leiter“.

Denn Design wird in Unternehmen unterschiedlich eingesetzt. Manche Unternehmen richten sich nur auf die Gestaltung ihrer Produkte und Dienste – sie beschränken sich auf das Design Doing. Andere nutzen Design umfassender, betreiben Design Thinking und gestalten dabei auch ihre Prozesse. Zu guter Letzt gibt es Unternehmen, in denen Design die Ausgangslage allen Handelns ist, in denen jede Entscheidung und somit auch die Sinnstiftung, aus der Designstrategie stammt – sie entwickeln ein Design Being.

Der Design Maturity Score misst die Designmaturität in Unternehmen. Das Ergebnis zeigt auf, wo Sie und Ihre Organisation stehen, wo Sie Stärken und Schwächen haben und welche Ausprägung die Maturität kennzeichnet. So können Sie feststellen, wo Sie ansetzen können, die Designführung im Unternehmen zu verbessern.

Denn jede Designarbeit ist nur so effektiv, wie die ihr zu Grunde liegende Organisation!